Listener Supported Radio
DonateNow

Open House
Kwmrlogo
With your host:

Guests and their topics:

 

Fridays, 12-12:30 pm

 

Upcoming Broadcasts:
Friday, September 26 12:00 PM - 12:30 PM
Friday, October 3 12:00 PM - 12:30 PM
Friday, October 10 12:00 PM - 12:30 PM
Friday, October 17 12:00 PM - 12:30 PM
Friday, October 24 12:00 PM - 12:30 PM

The 'Open House' Latest Broadcasts Subscribe to our podcast!
Podcast/RSS feed help
Open House (2013-10-17) posted Thu Oct 17 18:00:05 2013

 

Download MP3
Open House (2013-10-16) posted Wed Oct 16 19:00:03 2013

On October 26, 2008, the World War Two-built levees in Point Reyes Station's Giacomini Ranch were opened to the tides of lower Tomales Bay for the first time in sixty years. This event was the culmination of a massive effort by the National Park Service and Point Reyes National Seashore Association, with the coopperation and support of the Giacomini family, a team of scientists and contractors, and the West Marin community.

As a result of these collaborative, creative and cooperative efforts, today the community, the region and the nation - as well as wildlife and the environment - benefit from the Giacomini Wetlands.

Guests Bob Giacomini, Jules Evens, Sally Bolger, Dennis Rodoni and Greg Kamman join host Marc Matheson in a fifth anniversary conversation, interspersed with KWMR Pledge Drive breaks.

Click here for the second half of the program.

Missing but essential to the conversation are Point Reyes National Seashore professionals Brannon Ketcham, Lorraine Parsons, Amelia Ryan and Melanie Gunn, who were instrumental to the wetlands restoration and this program, and whose live participation was prevented by the federal government shutdown.


Image by Christin Coy, "“Giacomini Wetlands Dusk," oil on canvas.


 

Download MP3
Open House (2013-10-14) posted Mon Oct 14 14:20:04 2013

 

Download MP3
Open House (2013-10-10) posted Thu Oct 10 18:00:04 2013

 

Download MP3
Open House (2013-10-09) posted Wed Oct 9 19:00:04 2013

 

Download MP3
Open House (2013-10-07) posted Mon Oct 7 14:30:02 2013

 

Download MP3
Open House (2013-10-03) posted Thu Oct 3 18:00:04 2013

 

Download MP3